April 30, 2020

Do I Need Uninsured Motorist Insurance?

Yes. The State of California has minimum insurance requirements of 15/30/5 (meaning $15,000 per person, $30,000 per incident, and $5,000 per incident). If someone qualifies for the state’s special low income policies, their limits are only 10/20/3. Liability insurance is the only required coverage. The first two numbers represent bodily injury. That is the maximum amount of money the people you hurt can collect for their medical care, wage loss, and pain. The third number is the property damage limit, which is what can be spent to repair or replace a vehicle or any other damaged property (including cell phones, lap tops, etc.). What is not required by California is uninsured motorist coverage, but you better believe there are uninsured […]
April 30, 2020

Case Spotlight: Victory on Bicyclist Case, $107,120.66 Verdict

When the personal injury Law Offices of Alan M. Laskin in Sacramento California went to court to hear the verdict, the whole office was somber. After only one hour of deliberations, we were sure that it was not good news. Usually, when juries decide to award monetary damages, they take a while to come to the numbers. It’s a discussion among the jury members, some are high, some are low, and they need to negotiate to reach an agreed-upon figure. A fast jury verdict can sometimes mean that the talk about money did not take place. When we received the call that the jury came in with $107,120.66, we were shocked and wondered how it happened so fast. We got the story […]
April 30, 2020

What Can I Do? The Insurance Company Won’t Pay My Overdue Medical Bills!

Clients from the personal injury law offices of Alan M. Laskin in Sacramento California run in to this a lot. An insurance company does not pay for bills as they come. There are typically two settlements with an adverse insurance company: property damage and bodily injury. Now, you may not have an injury and the only thing you need to worry about is property damage, but if you do have an injury, you’ve got medical bills coming in and nobody paying them. The insurance company will only give one lump sum bodily injury settlement. With the property damage they might pay out the rental car and pay out the vehicle repair. Sometimes they’ll even replace damaged equipment. But bodily injury is […]
April 30, 2020

Who is at fault? Pedestrian vs. Auto

You might think this case study is a no-brainer, but, as always, the correct answer is “it depends.” In California pedestrians have a lot of leeway, but they don’t have an unequivocal right-of-way. California Vehicle Code section 21954(a) states that a pedestrian that is not in a crosswalk shall yield the right of way to any vehicle that is near enough that it constitutes a hazard. This law makes it seem like it is not illegal to jaywalk at all as long as crossing is safe, but that is not the case. California Vehicle Code section 21955 says that no pedestrian may cross the roadway at any place other than the crosswalk between adjacent intersections controlled by traffic control signal […]